LonCon3 – 1939 Retro Hugo Award Winners

Lovely idea – LonCon3, where this years Hugo Awards will be announced on Sunday, hosted a Retro Hugo Awards Ceremony for the year 1939. Here’s the results from their media release:  

1939 Retro Hugo Award Winners

LONDON, 14 August 2014 – Loncon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention being held at London ExCeL from 14-18 August, is delighted to announce the 1939 Retro Hugo Award Winners. 1,307 valid ballots were received and counted in the final ballot. The full statistics for the nominating and final ballots are available from the Loncon 3 web site.


Best Novel: The Sword in the Stone by T. H. White (Collins)

Best Novella: “Who Goes There?” by Don A Stuart [John W. Campbell] (Astounding Science-Fiction, August 1938)
Best Novelette: “Rule 18” by Clifford D. Simak (Astounding Science-Fiction, July 1938)
Best Short Story: “How We Went to Mars” by Arthur C. Clarke (Amateur Science Stories, March 1938) War of the Worlds Orson Wells
Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells. Written by Howard Koch & Anne Froelick, directed by Orson Welles (The Mercury Theater on the Air, CBS)
Weird_Tales_December_1937 Cover by Virgil Finlay Best Editor – Short Form: John W. Campbell
Best Professional Artist: Virgil Finlay
Best Fanzine: Imagination! edited by Forrest J Ackerman, Morojo, and T. Bruce Yerke Imagination
Best Fan Writer: Ray Bradbury

The 1939 Retro Hugo Award winners were announced at a ceremony held at Loncon 3 on Thursday evening, 14 August 2014 in London. The ceremony was hosted by Mary Robinette Kowal and Rob Shearman and broadcast live via Ustream.

The following other awards were also made:

Siegel and Schuster The First Fandom Hall of Fame Award was presented to John Clute.
First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame Awards were presented to John “Ted” Carnell and Walter H. Gillings.
The Sam Moskowitz Archive Awards was presented to Mike Ashley.
The Forrest J Ackerman Big Heart Award was presented to Vincent Docherty.
A special Committee Award, decided by the Loncon 3 committee rather than being voted on by the membership, was awarded to Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster in recognition of the first published appearance of Superman.