A Coffee with Hodder Editor Anne Perry at The London Book Fair!

Logo Hodderscape In the interests of openness I should probably note that this is more of ‘An absence of Coffee with’ Anne Perry: it being the afternoon of the third day of the London Books Fair we’re both already highly caffeinated and we decide to coast on what we’ve already imbibed rather than risk any top-ups. Apologies if anyone feels cheated by this (or that that’s cheating) 😉

*
Anyway the London Book Fair is a lot of different things to a lot of different editors. For some it’s selling international rights and translations of their titles. Anne Perry is no less busy, though she’s more on the other side and on the lookout for acquisitions; but for her the LBF offers a rare opportunity to connect with colleagues from across the Atlantic. It makes all the difference being able to connect face-to-face with those people you know more by e-mail in this or any other industry, so I’m grateful she has a bit of time to talk. Read the rest of this entry »

Hodderscape – Publishing Jan-Jun 2016!

CPP - Hodderscape-logo-dodo Here’s a look at what Hodderscape have coming for you over the period January to June 2016! We’ll be bringing you our particular recommends of all publishers together by month of publication. Note: Publication dates are liable to change and some jackets are still to come…
*** Publisher Page – link / profile ***
*** See Other Publishers Jan-Jun 16 ***

Read the rest of this entry »

Extract / Preview: Dreamland by Robert L Anderson

CB - Sep - Dreamland

P A R T   O N E

All that we see or seem
Is but a dream within a dream
—Edgar Allan Poe
Afterward, Dea blamed it all on Toby. She knew it wasn’t nice to blame a cat. It was definitely immature. But that was life: one big chain reaction, a series of sparks and explosions.
Always, explosions.
If Toby hadn’t clawed through the screen door, she would never have met so-and-so, she would never have said such- and-such, she would never have done blah, blah, blah. She’d still be slogging through dumb algebra homework in Fielding, Indiana, getting picked last in gym class and ignored in the cafeteria.

*
Funny how Fielding, Indiana, didn’t seem so bad anymore. Or maybe it just didn’t seem important. Not after the cops and the disappearance. Not after the men with no faces and the city in the sand.

Not after the monsters started showing up in the mirror. Definitely not after Connor.

 

Read the rest of this entry »

Extract / Preview: Way Down Dark by J P Smythe

CB - Jul - Way Down Dark

PROLOGUE

The story goes that Earth was much older than the scientists thought. We had assumed that we had billions of years left; that we would be totally prepared if the worst hap- pened. Maybe that made us complacent. We thought that we understood what we were doing to the planet. We thought we had time to fix it.
The first problem was overpopulation: too many people on the planet and not enough room for them. Then there wasn’t enough fuel, there wasn’t enough power, and we were wasting what little we had left. The planet got full around the same time as it started cracking and shaking. The weather changed, becoming warmer and colder at different times, extremes of everything and we couldn’t adapt fast enough. The scientists knew that we were doomed.

*
The people of Earth scrambled for anything to save themselves. They built these ships in a rush – as many as they could manage, that’s how the story goes – and they loaded them up with people and sent them up into the sky. I’ve imagined that so many times: all of these ships crowding in the skies. Not everybody could be saved, that’s how the story goes. The people sent up in the ships – they were the lucky ones. Read the rest of this entry »

The Fantastical & The Speculative – Publishing July to December 2015!

Carabas Pub Jul-Dec 15 Herein, via links to individual pages, lies the more-or-less complete output of UK SFF and major worldwide Graphic Novel publishers for July to December 2015!
We’ve applied selection criteria with the assumption that readers with a penchant for paranormal romance and titles more for the American market will have no problem finding those elsewhere; reissues and classic reprints are included sparingly.

Read the rest of this entry »

Hodder – Publishing Jul-Dec 15!

CPP - Hodderscape-logo-dodo Here’s an (edited) look at what Hodderscape and other Hodder divisions have coming for you over the period July to December 2015! We’ll be bringing you our particular recommends of all publishers together by month of publication. Note: Publication dates are liable to change and some jackets are still to come…
*** Publisher Page – link / profile ***
*** See Other Publishers Jul-Dec 15 ***

Read the rest of this entry »

July 2015 Carabas New Book Recommends

Carabas - New Book Recommends CB - Or - Jul - Tracer CBP - Jun - Three Moments of an Explosion CB - AR - Jul - Time Salvager Haig Nov - Foxglove Summer

*

Having just worked through the next 6 months of fantastical output we’re finding it as hard as ever to restrain our top picks; just so much great stuff! But there really is something about July this year where we’ve straightforwardly had to say ‘whatever – all this must go in’… And these aren’t even the end of the story – check out the individual Publisher articles for their July to December output as they come: plenty more on those as well!

It’s just a great month of books.

Read the rest of this entry »

Author Profile: Rebecca Levene

CPP - Rebecca Levene www.rebeccalevene.com
@BexLevene
One Comic podcast – with Jon Morgan and Jared Shurin (Pornokitsch)
On Wikipedia
Author, games writer, editor

 

About (from the author’s site)

I’m an experienced author of fiction and non-fiction, and have written scripts for TV and video games. I grew up in East Anglia, where I learnt two things of importance to my future writing career: how to milk goats and how to find the local library. Read the rest of this entry »

May 2015 Carabas New Book Recommends

Carabas - New Book Recommends CBP May - OF CBP - May - Day Four CBP - May - Resistance is Futile May - isbn9781473606616-detail CBP - SB - Sharkpunk

*

May brings another great package of debuts, latest-in-series, hardbacks and new in paperbacks of the science fictional and fantastical – here’s our top recommends of the month!

Generally if we have to limit our picks (and we do!) we’ll err on the side of new titles and those now in mass market paperbacks. But there’s a bunch of fabulous reissues in May, no less than four, that we just couldn’t not include – one being a top personal favourite: Michael Marshall Smith’s Only Forward. If you haven’t already bought and read you really have to do yourself and favour and do so now! Similarly, and having endeavored to limit ourselves to a single ‘Top Recommend’ over the last months, we just had to go for two in May.

Both have actually been out in a different form before. One has been a YA wattpad phenomenon, now deservedly in print; the other was released by the author in a limited print edition a few years back and now has its mainstream debut.

And if you don’t know what these might be then read on and find out – but don’t go too fast and miss the rest of the awesome publishing in May!

Read the rest of this entry »

The Fantastical & The Speculative – Publishing January to June 2015!

Carabas Publishing Jan-Jun 15
Herein, via links to individual pages, lies the more-or-less complete output of UK SFF publishers and the major worldwide Graphic Novel publishers for January to June 2015!
We’ve applied selection criteria with the assumption that readers with a penchant for paranormal romance and titles more for the American market will have no problem finding their next read elsewhere; reissues and back-in-print classic titles are included sparingly.

Read the rest of this entry »

February 2015 Carabas New Book Recommends

Carabas - New Book Recommends CBP - Iron Ghost CBP - The Death House Feb - isbn9781444794526-detail CBP - Trigger Warning 9780575083462

(Condensed intro – read in full HERE)

It’s a real A-List zone in February – hard to get down to something approaching a concise shortlist of recommended titles, and selecting a Book of the Month is more or less impossible…

Read the rest of this entry »

January 2015 Carabas New Book Recommends

Carabas - New Book Recommends CBP Jan - Empire CBP - Rush Jobs CBP - GA Jan 15 CBP - EJS Jan 15 CA - Smilers Fair

The first month of 2015 brings readers a superb list from which to pick their next read, and anyone attempting to recommend an unenviable task in trying to pick the best – one we couldn’t quite achieve without allowing ourselves a joint award. Read the rest of this entry »

HODDERSCAPE

Logo Hodderscape PP - The Eyre Affair The Dirty Streets of Heaven The Straight Razor Cure A Man Lies Dreaming

Website: www.hodderscape.co.uk/
On Facebook: www.facebook.com/hodderscape
On Twitter: @hodderscape

On Carabas:
Hodder – Publishing Jan-Jun 15!
Articles tagged Hodder / Hodderscape

Read the rest of this entry »

Timebomb – Oct 14 Recommends

For more books published in October 2014 click here for our full recommends for this month.

* Title Author ISBN Fmt RRP Pub. Series Vol.
Oct - Timebomb Timebomb Scott K Andrews 9781444752069 PB 13.99 Hodder N/A N/A
A hundred thousand years of history. Three teenagers. One war. TIMEBOMB is the first in a staggering new time travel trilogy.
Perfect for fans of Alex Scarrow and Michael Grant, this is the first in an incredible new time travel trilogy by the author of The Afterblight Chronicles.
New York City, 2141: Yojana Patel throws herself off a skyscraper, but never hits the ground.
Cornwall, 1640: gentle young Dora Predennick, newly come to Sweetclover Hall to work, discovers a badly-burnt woman at the bottom of a flight of stairs. When she reaches out to comfort the dying woman, she’s flung through time.
On a rainy night in present-day Cornwall: seventeen-year-old Kaz Cecka sneaks into the long-abandoned Sweetclover Hall, in search of a dry place to sleep. Instead he finds a frightened housemaid who believes Charles I is king and an angry girl who claims to come from the future.
Thrust into the centre of a war that spans millennia, Dora, Kaz and Jana must learn to harness powers they barely understand to escape not only villainous Lord Sweetclover but the forces of a fanatical army . . . all the while staying one step ahead of a mysterious woman known only as Quil.

 

A Man Lies Dreaming – Oct 14 Recommend

For more books published in October 2014 click here for our full recommends for this month.

* Title Author ISBN Fmt RRP Pub. Series Vol.
Oct - A Man Lies Dreaming A Man Lies Dreaming Lavie Tidhar 9781444762938 PB 13.99 Hodderscape N/A N/A
The next novel from Lavie Tidhar, the award-winning author of THE VIOLENT CENTURY.
Deep in the heart of history’s most infamous concentration camp, a man lies dreaming. His name is Shomer, and before the war he was a pulp fiction author. Now, to escape the brutal reality of life in Auschwitz, Shomer spends his nights imagining another world – a world where a disgraced former dictator now known only as Wolf ekes out a miserable existence as a low-rent PI in London’s grimiest streets.
An extraordinary story of revenge and redemption, A Man Lies Dreaming is the unforgettable testament to the power of imagination.

And you can read the comic strip intro online at Hodderscape here: 

www.hodderscape.co.uk/man-named-wolf-lavie-tidhar/