Hodder – Publishing Jul-Dec 15!

CPP - Hodderscape-logo-dodo Here’s an (edited) look at what Hodderscape and other Hodder divisions have coming for you over the period July to December 2015! We’ll be bringing you our particular recommends of all publishers together by month of publication. Note: Publication dates are liable to change and some jackets are still to come…
*** Publisher Page – link / profile ***
*** See Other Publishers Jul-Dec 15 ***

 

* Pub Author ISBN Bind RRP Series Vol
CB - Jul - Way Down Dark
WAY DOWN DARK
Jul
JP Smythe
9781444796322
TPB
13.99
 
1
The first in an extraordinary new YA trilogy by James Smythe, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.
There’s one truth on Australia.
You fight or you die.
 Usually both.
*
 Imagine a nightmare from which there is no escape.
Seventeen-year-old Chan’s ancestors left a dying Earth hundreds of years ago, in search of a new home. They never found one.
This is a hell where no one can hide.
The only life that Chan’s ever known is one of violence, of fighting. Of trying to survive.
This is a ship of death, of murderers and cults and gangs.
But there might be a way to escape. In order to find it, Chan must head way down into the darkness – a place of buried secrets, long-forgotten lies, and the abandoned bodies of the dead.
This is Australia.
Seventeen-year-old Chan, fiercely independent and self-sufficient, keeps her head down and lives quietly, careful not to draw attention to herself amidst the violence and disorder. Until the day she makes an extraordinary discovery – a way to return the <i>Australia</i> to Earth. But doing so would bring her to the attention of the fanatics and the murderers who control life aboard the ship, putting her and everyone she loves in terrible danger.
And a safe return to Earth is by no means certain.
CBP - Jul - Hunter's Kind
THE HUNTER’S KIND
Jul
Rebecca Levene
9781444753752
HB
16.99
The Hollow God’s
2
Check out our Author Profile of BEX LEVENE on Carabas here!
The stunning sequel to SMILER’S FAIR – Book 2 of THE HOLLOW GODS
*
Krish once believed himself but a humble goatherd, but now knows he’s the son of the king of Ashanesland – and the moon god reborn, as foretold. Now, with his allies Dae Hyo and the mage Olufemi by his side, Krish has begun to sieze control of Ashanesland… and receive the worship he is due.
But Kirsh has many enemies, including Sang Ki, the bastard lord, who has discovered the key to Krish’s overthow in the distant Moon Forest. There lives a girl named Cwen, a disciple of the god known only as the Hunter. And she has made it her life’s mission to seek out Krish and destroy him.
If Krish has any hope of defeating his enemies, he must travel to the forbidden Mirror Town and unlock the secrets of its powerful magic. And the price of his victory may be much greater than the consequences of his defeat.
CB - Aug - The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet
THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET
Aug
Becky Chambers
9781473619791
HB
18.99
 
 
Firefly meets Mass Effect in this thrilling self-published debut!
*
When Rosemary Harper  joins the crew of the Wayfarer, she isn’t expecting much. The Wayfarer, a patched-up ship that’s seen better days, offers her everything she could possibly want: a small, quiet spot to call home for a while, adventure in far-off corners of the galaxy, and distance from her troubled past.
But Rosemary gets more than she bargained for with the Wayfarer. The crew is a mishmash of species and personalities, from Sissix, the friendly reptillian pilot, to Kizzy and Jenks, the constantly sparring engineers who keep the ship running. Life on board is chaotic, but more or less peaceful – exactly what Rosemary wants.
Until the crew are offered the job of a lifetime: the chance to build a hyperspace tunnel to a distant planet. They’ll earn enough money to live comfortably for years… if they survive the long trip through war-torn interstellar space without endangering any of the fragile alliances that keep the galaxy peaceful.
But Rosemary isn’t the only person on board with secrets to hide, and the crew will soon discover that space may be vast, but spaceships are very small indeed.
CB - Aug - Tailchaser's Song
TAILCHASER’S SONG
Aug
Tad Williams
9781473617117
PB
8.99
 
 
Tad Williams’ beloved debut novel, available in the UK for the very first time.
*
The extraordinary debut novel that launched Tad Williams’ career, TAILCHASER’S SONG is an epic of high fantasy and grand adventure, where gods walk amongst their people and where even very small creatures can change the world.
Weaving through the tall grasses of this world is Tailchaser, a young ginger tomcat with a good heart and a restless spirit. When his friend Hushpad vanishes, Tailchaser sets out to find her. His journey will take him further than he ever thought possible – from the court of the Firstwalkers, through the cities of M’an, and into the hellish depths of the earth itself, where an unimaginable horror awaits.
CB - Sep - Dreamland
DREAMLAND
Sep
Robert L. Anderson
9781473621008
HB
12.99
 
 
Debut YA novel, part fairy tale and part gritty realism, about the thin tissue separating our world from the world of dreams and nightmares. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor’s DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE series and Maggie Stiefvater’s THE RAVEN CYCLE.
*
Dea Donahue has been able to travel through people’s dreams since she was six years old. Her mother taught her the three rules of walking: Never interfere. Never be seen. Never walk the same person’s dream more than once. Dea has never questioned her mother, not about the rules, not about the clocks or the mirrors, not about moving from place to place to be one step ahead of the unseen monsters that Dea’s mother is certain are right behind them.
Then a mysterious new boy, Connor, comes to town and Dea finally starts to feel normal.  As Connor breaks down the walls that she’s had up for so long, he gets closer to learning her secret. For the first time she wonders if that’s so bad. But when Dea breaks the rules, the boundary between worlds begins to deteriorate. How can she know what’s real and what’s not?
Jan - isbn9781444759013-detail
GOLDEN SON
Sep
Pierce Brown
9781444759037
PB
7.99
 
2
The astonishing, unforgettable sequel to RED RISING, which the Examiner called ‘properly a-ma-zing, like an adrenalin shot for the imagination.’
*
Ender’s Game meets The Hunger Games in this, the second in an extraordinary trilogy from an incredible new voice.
‘I’m still playing games. This is just the deadliest yet.’
Darrow is a rebel forged by tragedy. For years he and his fellow Reds worked the mines, toiling to make the surface of Mars inhabitable. They were, they believed, mankind’s last hope. Until Darrow discovered that it was all a lie, and that the Red were nothing more than unwitting slaves to an elitist ruling class, the Golds, who had been living on Mars in luxury for generations.
In RED RISING, Darrow infiltrated Gold society, to fight in secret for a better future for his people. Now fully embedded amongst the Gold ruling class, Darrow continues his dangerous work to bring them down from within. It’s a journey that will take him further than he’s ever been before – but is Darrow truly willing to pay the price that rebellion demands?
A life-or-death tale of vengeance with an unforgettable hero at  its heart, Golden Son guarantees Pierce Brown’s continuing status as one of fiction’s most exciting new voices.
dead lands cover
THE DEAD LANDS
Oct
Benjamin Percy
9781444770056
PB
7.99
 
 
Benjamin Percy’s epic novel is the unputdownable story of an impossibly dangerous  journey of hope taken at the end of the world, perfect for fans of Stephen King and Cormac McCarthy.
*
Like Stephen King’s The Stand before it, THE DEAD LANDS is an incredible novel set across the sprawling landscape of a nightmarish post-apocalyptic American West.
The world we know is gone, destroyed by a virus that wiped out nearly every human on the planet. Some few survivors built walled cities, fortresses to keep themselves safe from those the virus didn’t kill… but did change.
Sanctuary. A citadel in the heart of the former United States of  America. Hundreds of miles in every direction beyond its walls lies nothing but death and devastation. Everyone who lives in the safety Sanctuary provides knows that.
Until the day a stranger appears. She speaks of a green and fertile land far to the west, a land of promise and plenty, safe from the ruin the virus has wreaked. She has come to lead the survivors away from Sanctuary, to the promise of a new life without walls.
But those who follow her will discover that not everything she says is true.
Feb - isbn9781444794663-detail
THE CATALYST
Oct
Helena Coggan
9781444794656
PB
6.99
 
 
Imaginative, thrilling and highly readable fantasy novel from a bright young voice. Perfect for fans of the DIVERGENT series.
*
Rose Elmsworth has a secret. For eighteen years, the world has been divided into the magically Gifted and the non-magical Ashkind, but Rose’s identity is far more dangerous. At fifteen, she has earned herself a place alongside her father in the Department, a brutal law-enforcement organisation run by the Gifted to control the Ashkind. But now an old enemy is threatening to start a catastrophic war, and Rose faces a challenging test of her loyalties. How much does she really know about her father’s past? How far is the Department willing to go to keep the peace? And, when the time comes, will Rose choose to protect her secret, or the people she loves?
CB - Aug - The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet
THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET
Dec
Becky Chambers
9781473619814
PB
8.99
 
 
Firefly meets Mass Effect in this thrilling self-published debut!
*
When Rosemary Harper  joins the crew of the Wayfarer, she isn’t expecting much. The Wayfarer, a patched-up ship that’s seen better days, offers her everything she could possibly want: a small, quiet spot to call home for a while, adventure in far-off corners of the galaxy, and distance from her troubled past.
But Rosemary gets more than she bargained for with the Wayfarer. The crew is a mishmash of species and personalities, from Sissix, the friendly reptillian pilot, to Kizzy and Jenks, the constantly sparring engineers who keep the ship running. Life on board is chaotic, but more or less peaceful – exactly what Rosemary wants.
Until the crew are offered the job of a lifetime: the chance to build a hyperspace tunnel to a distant planet. They’ll earn enough money to live comfortably for years… if they survive the long trip through war-torn interstellar space without endangering any of the fragile alliances that keep the galaxy peaceful.
But Rosemary isn’t the only person on board with secrets to hide, and the crew will soon discover that space may be vast, but spaceships are very small indeed.

 

You can also check out Hodder/Hodderscape’s January to June titles on our page here…

…discover even more fantastic publishing from July to December by clicking the publisher logos beneath…

CPP - Angry Robot CPP - Del Rey Square CPP - Gollancz 1 CPP - Harper Voyager CPP - Hodderscape-logo-dodo
ANGRY ROBOT DEL REY GOLLANCZ HARPER VOYAGER HODDERSCAPE
JF Logo Orbit Logo (with border) CPP - Rebellion Publishing CPP - Titan Square CPP - Tor
JO FLETCHER ORBIT REBELLION TITAN TOR

*
…and discover our top picks of the year by month via the links below!

OUR MONTHLY RECOMMENDS!

July to December 2015:

BOOKS: SF & FANTASY JULY AUGUST SEPTEMBER OCTOBER NOVEMBER DECEMBER
GRAPHIC NOVELS JULY AUGUST SEPTEMBER OCTOBER NOVEMBER DECEMBER

*
January to June 2015:

BOOKS: SF & FANTASY JANUARY FEBRUARY MARCH APRIL MAY JUNE
GRAPHIC NOVELS JANUARY FEBRUARY MARCH APRIL MAY JUNE